Day 31: Relevé demi-pointé

Today’s exercise comes from the ballet and sounds very elegant: Relevè demi-pointé. It means „to rise on your toes“.

31.TagReleve

To come in the proper starting position – „the 1st position“ in the ballet – I have to turn my toes outwards while my heels are touching each other. But that’s not so easy and so I just do it the best I can. Then I push the heels up and back down again. I repeat this exercise several times. It’s quite strenuous for the feet and the lower leg. Maybe that’s the reason why ballet dancers jump so high?

A little hint: If it’s a bit rickety at the beginning you can stabilize yourself by putting one or two hands on a wall.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

