Day 92: The bascule bridge

If a ship needs to pass under a bascule bridge, the bridge must swing upwards first. That looks very smooth, but hides a lot of technique. While trying to imitate this movement I noticed quiet quickly that there are also a lot of muscles that play an important role.

Day 92: The bascule bridge

I lay down straight on a mat. Then I press my shoulders and heels down und lift at the same time my body up in the air tensing the leg-, butt- and hip muscles, the lower back and the abdominals. But that’s not all yet. Now I have to hold the position till the ship passed by. And that could last a while!

Ship ahoy!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

